The COLLEGE OF ENGINEERING AND INFORMATION TECHNOLOGY (CEIT) started as the Department of Agricultural Engineering in1976. It offered basic agricultural engineering courses required by the BSA curriculum.

In 1985, the unit was renamed to Department of Engineering and Agro-Industrial Technology (DEAIT). By virtue of Board Resolution No. 5, S1985, it started to offer Bachelor of Science in Agricultural Engineering on the first semester of SY 1985 – 1986.

In 1992, the department was elevated to the School status. This resulted in the creation of two (2) distinct departments: the Engineering Science Department and the Agricultural Engineering Department. The formation of these departments delineated the basic engineering science courses from the agricultural engineering courses.

In 1993, the Department of Engineering Technology was created. The newly created department offers non-degree courses in engineering technology.

In 1998, when the College was elevated to University status, the School of Engineering (SEng) was subsequently elevated to the College level and was named as the College of Engineering (CEng).

To accommodate IT courses offerings; the College was renamed as the College of Engineering and Information Technology (CEIT) in 2001.

As approved by the Board of Regents, CEIT offers various engineering programs, computer-based programs, and industrial technology programs.